Today the Commission approved the application to construct rooftop and rear additions along with other modifications to the Domino Sugar Refinery, an individual landmark designated in 2007. The application is part of a plan to adaptively reuse the site for commercial and residential development. In addition the project will include a five-block long Artifact Walk which will interpret the industrial past of the site.
The Domino Sugar Refinery, formerly the Havemeyers & Elder Filter, Pan & Finishing House, located at 292-314 Kent Avvenue in Brooklyn was designed by Theodore A. Havemeyer and completed in 1884. In the late 19th and early 20th centuries sugar production was Brooklyn’s most important industry with various factories lining the East River. Of those factories the Domino Sugar refinery is the largest and most significant structure to survive as a testament to Brooklyn’s industrial past.